Right Revd Ellison Quity. Bishop of the Diocese of Ysabel.

The Diocese of Ysabel (DOY) was inaugurated on the 1st of March 1975 at Jejevo Primary School after which the Diocesan Synod was held.

The first Diocesan Bishop was the late Sir Duddley Tuti. He was made an Assistant Bishop of the then Diocese of Melanesia in 1963. When the Diocese of Melanesia became a Province of its own from New Zealand, His Grace John Wallace Chisholm became the Arch Bishop and Bishop Duddley Tuti became the first Diocesan Bishop in 1975. He retired in 1980



Diocesan Bishop

Sir Duddley Tuti 1963 – 1974 Assistant Bishop

Sir Ellison Pogo 1981 – 1994 Diocesan Bishop

The Rt Rev. Walter Siba 1995 – 1999 Diocesan Bishop

The Rt Rev. Zephaniah Legumana 2000 – 2003 Diocesan Bishop

The Rt Canon Richard Naramana 2004 – 2015 September

The Rt Rev Ellision Quity 2016 – Current

There are four Regions or Deaneries in the diocese of Ysabel. The four Senior Priests or Archdeacons look after the four Regions.

The four Regions are;

LAWE Region – Rev. Robert Maru (Senior Priest), 4 Parishes and 4 Districts

ZAMAKO Region – Rev. George Bugoro (Senior Priest), 3 Parishes and 5 Districts

TUVANO Region – Rev. Zephaniah Kokili (Senior Priest), 8 Districts

GAOMA Region – Rev. Andrew   Tango(Senior Priest) , 6 Districts

The diocesan headquarter is located at Jejevo, Buala, Isabel Province


Diocesan Contact;

Diocesan Bishop

NAME: The Right Reverend Ellison Quity
EMAIL:   ellison.jejevo@gmail.com

Diocesan Secretary

NAME: Mr Mark Toni
EMAIL:   tonimark546@gmail.com


ACOM Elects New Bishop For Ysabel

THE Anglican Church of Melanesia has a new bishop for the Diocese of Ysabel (DOY). The Diocesan Electoral Board of the Anglican Church of Melanesia has today elected the Reverend Ellison Quity as the sixth bishop for the Diocese

Read More »