English French
You are here:Ministries Board of Mission Mission to Seafarers Mission to Sea farers
Monday, 24 March 2014 16:14

Mission to Sea farers

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

THE mission to sea farers is a missionary society of the Anglican Church which is committed to promoting the wellbeing of seafarers and their families worldwide.

Since its establishment in the Anglican Church in the Province of Melanesia, Chaplains have been mandated to the office in Honiara are: Fr. Wilson Mapuru, Fr. George Elo and currently Fr. Hillary Anisi.

With the expansion of the Ministry; there are other centers which are set up in Noro Port in the Western Province and in Lata in Temotu Province. 

Anglican Church of Melanesia  also establish Mission to Seafarers in Port Vila, and the first Chaplain was Fr James Marvin Ligo( the current DOVNC Bishop), Fr Joseph Tagaro, Fr Ephraim Mathias and now Fr Michael Tavoa Junior.

The mission to seafarers provided Ministerial Care and support for those who leave their homes and families to work at sea.

Today, in port of Honiara, both International and national seafarers make use of their limited time ashore as they have affordable communication facilities being provided by shipping agents and the Mission to Seafarers office.

Read 2920 times Last modified on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 14:44